Manga ahoy

April 3, 2012 at 21:05 (Blog, Drawing) (, , , , )

I’ve lately been browsing through the book “Mastering Manga” by Mark Crilley and tried out a few of the exercises therein.

Here’s a photo of the first two lessons. Please keep in mind that I’m not that familiar with manga. ;)

20120403-205502.jpg

The first one was only intended to be eyes. Just for fun I added a nose and mouth, and managed to jumble up their positioning.
The face turned out okay, though she looks a little more stern than I had intended. I also had a little trouble with the hair (always found hair to be a huge pain in the butt to draw).

Stay tuned, I’m going to post a book review about it in a few days. :)

Finally I just want to explain why I’ve been so silent over the last month. I managed to injure my wrist just two days after my last post and couldn’t draw comfortably for quite a while. After that I just stopped drawing. Looking through this book made me motivated to pick up the pencil again.
Sorry for not giving word of why I was silent…

2 Comments

  1. Carnitas Fever said,

    I really like the face on the left. Happy! Nice hair on the right.

  2. Mashiem said,

    Thanks. That’s kind of you to say. :)

Leave a Reply

