Suicide is painless

March 11, 2012 at 09:07 (Blog, Comic) (, , , , , , )

I had the idea for this strip many months ago, but for some reason or another I just never got around to draw it.
Two days ago I found some old sketchpapers, one of them with some really crude sketches of this strip. I decided to finally do it, and started drawing yesterday.

Unlike the other strips in the “Daycare” series this one is inked with a brush. All the others are drawn using a pen. Truth be told, I think it would have looked better if I had stuck to the pen. The straight lines in particular just doesn’t seem that… Well… Straight.

The text and balloons are added in PhotoShop.

I notice that I really need to work more on drawing hands. Even cartoon hands. And more practice in perspective wouldn’t be a bad thing either.

Here’s a design-sheet I made before starting to draw.
Upper left show the room layout, just so I’d know what’s where. Then follow the dialogue with thumbnails. The sketches on the right is for the new character, Adam.

And here’s the pencils of each panel.

Leave a Reply

