Happy new year! (and stuff)

January 1, 2012 at 20:54 (Blog, Drawing) (, , , , )

Hello there dear reader, I wish you everything good to come in the new year.
What better way to celebrate a new year with something new? Here you go…

What, not new? Au countraire, mon ami.
For christmas I recieved a set of watercolor pencils from my stepmom, and here you can see my first test. I wanted to see if they would be suitable for coloring comics, and whether I’d need to invest in a different kind of paper to make it work.

This little drawing was done on my regular smooth bristol-board, and it seemed to go oer rather well. The paper didn’t warp or buckle noticable, and the colors didn’t smear noticably. The paper wasn’t even damaged by multiple application of color and water. Sure, a whole pge is quite different from a tiny slice like this, but that’s what’s great about comics-panels; They can be colored individually, thereby reducing the waterdamage to the paper to small areas at a time.

Here you can see the colors I got, a 36 pencil set of Cretacolor Marino.

I’m trying to come up with a single-page comic that I can color using these pretty little things, as a test. Check back in the near future to see the result. :)

Leave a Reply

